Future prospects for Bersatu 4

Now that the Bersatu 4 have pledged their support for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, their worry over constituency allocation is over.

Bersatu 4 refers to the four Bersatu lawmakers who pledge their support while remaining in their respective but at the same time would be sitting with the backbenchers bloc.

The four are Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Mohd Khalid (Kuala Kangsar), Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan), Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang) and Zahari Kechik (Jeli).

Clearly the opposition bloc of Perikatan Nasional would shun them for betraying the party’s trust.

Bersatu president, who is also PN chief, Tan Sri Mahiaddin Yassin is put in a spot as he cannot opt to get rid of them.

Ironically, Mahiaddin and his party rejected a clause that required MPs to vacate their seats if they go against the party whip and principles, revealed Khairy Jamaluddin via Keluar Sekejap podcast that he co-hosted. This was during the initial draft stage.

Khairy was minister when the anti hopping law was included in the constitutional amendment.

On the other side, the Pakatan Harapan – Barisan Nasional combo coalition would not receive them with open arms. It would take time to build trust since the four are from the opposite camp.

While Iskandar, Suhaili, Azizi and Zahari would continue their terms as MPs until the end of the present term which would be in 2026 or 2027, their move to support Anwar have rendered them useless in the future for Bersatu.

The four would go down the history books as one term MPs. There are definitely no future prospects for them in their present and future prospective parties.

This is also due to public perception that the four have circumvented the anti – hopping law to maintain their seats.