Pang Sock Tao – a new addition to DAP’s fourth generation leaders

The fielding of Sdri Xiao Tao 小桃 in the Kuala Kubu Baharu by-election as a Perpaduan-Pakatan Harapan-DAP candidate is yet another testimony of DAP’s commitment to groom young leaders for the future.

This is the long-term planning and ideals of DAP that has allowed us to grow and get stronger for the past six decades.

One of the reasons why DAP stalwart Sdr Lim Kit Siang is well respected is because of his readiness to identify and groom young leaders for the party all these years. Even when DAP was at its lowest ebbs, Kit Siang never gave up on this mission. He developed generations after generations of DAP leaders, and ensured that these talents rise to the occasion.

There are four generations of DAP leaders. The first one being led by Kit Siang, and the second generation was represented by our former Secretary-General Sdr Lim Guan Eng. Current DAP Secretary-General Sdr Anthony Loke Siew Fook with his team of leaders around 50 years of age, with more than a decade of frontline experience, form the third generation. Now, many of our fourth generation leaders are those elected in the 2018 and 2022 general elections.

It is in the DNA of DAP to continuously groom and prepare leaders of the future. Leadership is a great responsibility and in many ways, the party provides young leaders the opportunities to grow and unleash their potential.

Having Pang Sock Tao as our candidate for Kuala Kubu Bharu is Anthony continuing this tradition of DAP with the intention of expanding the fourth generation of party leaders.

The DAP celebrated its 58th anniversary in March. Led by Anthony, the leadership’s vision extends beyond short-term political gains. Instead, we are determined to build a strong talent pool and establish a stable political leadership to form the cornerstone of Malaysian politics for many more years to come.

The author, Liew Chin Tong is DAP deputy secretary general, deputy minister of investment, trade and industry, MP for Iskandar Puteri and state assemblyman of Perling in Johor.