Bersatu needs to read constitution in full

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim defended Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Johari Abdul’s decision in not vacating the seats of the six MPs, now expelled from Bersatu.

“We wanted anyone who was terminated to automatically lose their seats, but Bersatu opposed this at the time, which is why exceptions were included.

“The (Federal) Constitution must be read in full,” he told reporters after the Global Madani Forum 2024, reported FMT.

Bersatu and Perikatan Nasional chairman Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin was disappointed that Johari determined that the six MPs need not vacate their seats.

The six are Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang), Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang), Datuk Dr Zulkafperi Hanapi (Tanjong Karang), Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar), and Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan).

Article 49A of the Federal Constitution, commonly known as anti-hopping law states that the MP seat will be vacated if the MP resigns from a party, ceases to be a member of the party or joins another party.

ALSO READ: Institutional reforms needed to stop appeals from top SPM students