DAP’s Pang officially wins

Pang Sock Tao of DAP representing Pakatan Harapan (PH) successfully retained the Kuala Kubu Baharu (KKB) seat officially with a majority of 3869 votes.

She obtained 14000 votes.

In the by-election, Khairul Azhari Saut, who represented Perikatan National for Bersatu, came in second with 10,131 votes.

The other candidates, Parti Rakyat Malaysia’s Hafizah Zainuddin, and independent candidate Nyau Ke Xin lost their deposit.

Hafizah polled 152 votes and Nyau Ke Xin obtained 188 votes.

The voter turnout was 61.51%.

The by-election was called after its incumbent, Lee Kee Hiong of DAP, passed away.

In the last KKB by-election, Lee won with a 4,119 vote majority, garnering a total of 14,862 votes. 

Her rivals were PN’s Teoh Kien Hong (10,743 votes), Muda’s R. Siva Prakash (1,186 votes), and PRM’s Chng Boon Lai (527 votes).

READ ALSO: Pang Sock Tao secures KKB seat unofficially