Umno wants to contest all the six seats

Umno has confirmed that it will in all the six seats currently held by government friendly Bersatu MPs in the event a by-election is eventually triggered.

The six seats are currently held by Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang), Datuk Zulkafperi Hanapi (Tanjung Karang), Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang), Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar) dan Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan).

“The seats were previously held by Umno so we will negotiate with the unity government leadership to regain the seat after confirming there is a vacancy. The priority is for Umno and BN candidates,” said Umno president Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi who is also BN chairman.

He said this in response to the possibility of the courts deciding in favor of a seat vacancy at an event organised by the North Corridor Implementation Authority, reported Harian Metro.

Bersatu has already amended their constitution to strip the membership of elected representatives in the event they declare support against party’s stand.

In a related development Dewan Rakyat speaker Tan Sri Johari Abdul confirmed that he had not received any notification from Bersatu regarding this issue.

READ ALSO: No change in the fate of Bersatu’s six MPs