Sungai Bakap voters vote today

A total of 39,279 registered voters of Sungai Bakap will have their chance to determine whether Pakatan Harapan wrest this semi urban Penang state seat today.

Nine polling centres will be open until 6 pm after which the ballot boxes will be taken to the Jawi Multipurpose Hall in Taman Desa Jawi, Nibong Tebal for the vote counting process.

Joohari Ariffin of PKR is PH’s trump card to wrest the seat from Pas’ Abidin Ismail.

Abidin casted his vote in Sekolah Kebangsaan Sungai Duri while Joohari did not since he is a voter in Sungai Acheh, the neighbouring state seat within the Nibong Tebal parliament constituency.

The Sungai Bakap seat has been a PKR stronghold since 2008 until the state polls held last year.

The polls today is also the eighth by-election since GE15 in November 2022.

Sungai Bakap voters racial composition is made up of 59.36% Malay voters, 22.54% Chinese, 17.39% Indian, and 0.71% from other ethnicities.

Young voters are also a vital aspect of voters.

A total of 7.9% of Sg Bakap voters are between the ages of 18 and 20, while those between 21 and 39 make up 45% of the electorate.

ALSO READ: Fadhlina: SJKT Sungai Bakap will be a reality